My favourite essential oils

I have been a fan of using essential oils for a number of complaints I endure; such as trouble falling asleep or relaxing, stress and anxiety or when I just need a bit of mental clarity and alertness. The range I normally buy is the miaroma which you can obtain from Holland and Barrett (UK). I will list some of my favs and what makes them so useful.

Bergamot

Product of the bergamot orange fruit i.e. very strong and citrusy; bergamot essential oil is ideal for treating the symptoms of stress, depression, anxiety and also great for certain skin complaints. It is one of my favourite scents and very uplifting; giving me a happy little boost when I’m feeling low, worried and experiencing negative thoughts. Similar? Also try orange.

Peppermint

Feeling sluggish, tired, have no focus or concentration? Have a whiff of peppermint! Its great for promoting mental alterness and energy. Add a few drops to a tissue and inhale deeply and you will notice the effects almost immediately. I tend to use this before I start work, or during when my energy drains, and before I start a workout. It’s also good when you have a cold or blocked nose. I also love peppermint tea made with fresh mint leaves to relieve digestive issues. Similar? I would also recommend rosemary.

Lavender

One of the most popular oils for promoting sleep, relaxation, stress relief including stress induced headaches. I always make sure I have this around. I love using this in a relaxing bath to ease my worries and induce sleep and it is really useful to sprinkle a few drops on your pillow before bed. Also has anti-inflammatory properties, I tend to use a few drops of lavender to my face washes to reduce acne breakouts and blemishes. Tea tree oil and basil oil is also highly recommended for skin complaints.

Lime

I absolutely love the scent of lime and for good reason, being that it is highly stimulating and uplifts the mood when your feeling a bit emotional. It is also great for the immune system when your feeling run down as well as being an all round cleanser for both your body and your home. Also try out ginger oil as a similar alternative.

Using carrier oils

Please be aware that if you are planning on using essential oils on the skin, never apply it undilluted as this can cause burning or irritation. You should add essential oils to a carrier oil; which is normally a vegatable oil such as sweet amond, olive oil, grapeseed oil or coconut oil – I use the Vita coco make as shown below. Try to go for cold pressed organic oils when possible.

Vita Coco
Vita Coco Coconut Oil

Any questions please add to the comments šŸ™‚

Author: ammaca

To be continued...

Leave a Reply

